Every driver in Georgia knows that the daily commute can be hazardous, and it’s not uncommon to pass by an accident, particularly when driving on I-285 or I-85. In fact, Georgia is one of the deadliest states to travel in the Southeast, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The map below illustrates where most crashes occur throughout the state.
Although every auto accident case is different, there are several factors that can affect how much a case is worth. In many instances, an insurance company will pressure an accident victim to accept a quick and easy settlement offer before it’s really clear what the damages are. Talking to a lawyer about your case does not necessarily mean you are filing a lawsuit. Rather, it means you are enlisting the help of a skilled and aggressive negotiator to fight for your right to full and fair compensation.
Use the slider buttons below to see what factors in your case may make it worth contacting a knowledgeable Georgia car accident lawyer.
One of our dedicated Georgia car accident lawyers will contact you to discuss the details of your case and explain what types of compensation you may be able to pursue.
Some of the damages that you suffer after an accident are easily tracked: medical bills, vehicle repairs, lost wages, etc. But trying to put a monetary amount on the physical and emotional pain and suffering you endure can be difficult. There is no set formula for how these damages may be determined, but there are two common tactics that your attorney may consider:
Depending on how severely you were hurt, your pain and suffering could be calculated by multiplying your economic damages (such as medical bills and lost income) by a number from 1 to 5. So, for example, if your economic damages were $10,000, and your injury level was a 3, your attorney may pursue additional pain and suffering damages of $30,000.
In some cases, your attorney may calculate pain and suffering damages based on a set amount for each day between the time you were injured and the time you reached maximum medical improvement. So, for example, if your determined per diem amount was $150, and it took you 100 days to recover, your attorney may demand pain and suffering damages of $15,000.
Average cost of a crash-related emergency room visit
Average cost for a crash-related hospitalization
Amount of damage to your vehicle that makes it necessary for you to report the accident to Georgia law enforcement
Car accident injuries can be tricky, as symptoms from injuries such as whiplash may not appear immediately. If you reported your accident to the insurance company immediately but didn’t mention injuries, you may still be able to pursue compensation for those injuries. If you sought treatment for your injuries soon after the accident, you should speak with a skilled Georgia car accident attorney as soon as possible to learn about your legal rights.
After an accident, Georgia law allows you two years to file a personal injury lawsuit. However, insurance companies have much shorter time limits within their policies for reporting the accident. The sooner you talk to an attorney, the better. A skilled attorney will start collecting evidence in your case right away, before physical proof disappears or memories of the accident fade.
Many people worry that they can’t afford to hire an attorney after a car accident, so they try to handle the settlement negotiations themselves. It’s important to know that at Millar & Mixon, our dedicated Atlanta car accident attorneys offer free, no obligation case consultations. And we do not charge any attorney fees upfront. Instead, we only collect legal fees if and when we recover compensation for you.