Skip to content
   
Formerly Known as "Millar & Mixon, LLC" if you are looking for Steven @ Mixon Law - Click Here!
Call Now for a Free Case Evaluation
(770) 400-0000

Georgia Diminished Value Claims: Can I file a claim if I can drive my car after a crash, but its value has dropped?

Published February 12, 2018 by Bruce Millar

Yes. Under Georgia diminished value law, you can pursue what is called a “diminished value claim.” While you may not always need an attorney for this type of claim, it is advisable to consult with a lawyer, especially one offering free consultations, to see if you need to  hire an attorney to help you with the matter.

Calculating the diminished value of your car should be a simple, straightforward matter. For instance, if your car was worth $10,000 before a crash, and now it is worth only $7,500, you should be entitled to the difference, or $2,500.

However, insurance companies may try to complicate the matter by arguing that mileage, condition of the car and other factors are driving the value of your car or truck down.

This is why an attorney can help you in both negotiations for a fair and reasonable settlement of your diminished value claim or, if needed, to represent you in court.

In some cases, an insurance company may be acting unreasonably in refusing to pay your property damage claim. It may be necessary for your attorney to file a bad faith insurance claim on your behalf.

Please see our Insurance Settlements page to learn more about how the experienced car accident attorneys at The Millar Law Firm can protect your rights while negotiating with the insurance company.  Find out more here with our free legal guide, How to Handle Your Own Claim.

Associations & Awards

Call Now for a Free Case Evaluation
(770) 400-0000

Two Locations to meet you

Atlanta Office
Southside Office